Saturday, January 03, 2009

by bilbo1742

Anthology of Japanese Folk Music 1960-1976

Text by our friend Dirk (Cities On Flame With Rock And Roll):
Fans of unusual folk music, Japan and songs of pig slaughter, rejoice! *grin*Your ship has come in. Here is Anthology Of Japanese New Folk 1960-1976. A compilation of japanese singer/songwriters from the 60's and 70's - includes everything from sultry chanteuses and film vamps to orchestral pop auteurs and underground folk with electric guitar
Excelent compilation!

01. Akira Kobayashi -Akiras Coal Mine Song
02. Go Takao-The Morning That Sunset Cicadas Sing
03. RC Succession-Sea of Mud(live)
04. Kazuhiko Kato-Arthers Boutique
05. Hako Yamazaki-White Flower
06. Morio Agata -Television
07. Maki Asakawa-Since I Was Little
08. Yoshiko Sai-Did The Camelias Fall
09. Zunou Keisatsu-Wrapped In Sadness
10. Kenji Endo-Youre Always With Me
11. Kan Mikami-Its Good That I Dream
12. Yoshio Hayakawa-Morning Glory You May Not Know
13. Masato Minami-Heartful of Love Which Blooms In An Endless Stream
14. Hiroshi Kamayatsu-Lonley Man
15. Out Cast-Futari no Himitsu
16. Doji Morita-Our Failure


Contemporary Guitar - Spring '67

Text by our friend EJG (grown so ugly):
This incredibly hard to find, influential and fantastic collection of tracks by fingerpicking masters was released by John Fahey's Takoma Records in 1967. Contemporary Guitar is one of the absolute best collections of solo acoustic guitar and has sadly never been reissued.

There are two tracks by Max Ochs, cousin of the folk singer Phil Ochs. These two pieces and an obscure side for Fonotone were the only recordings of Ochs until he was featured on the Tompkins Square labels Imaginational Anthem compilation. Ochs has been doing some touring lately and hopefully some recordings will surface.

The John Fahey piece is called The Fahey Sampler and is a long piece which contains the second part of "When the Springtime Comes Again" (which was en route to "Mark 1:15" (1971) and again in "When the Fire and the Rose are One" (1973). Also includes a phrase from "The Transcendental Waterfall". This piece has not been reissued.

JF 1969: "Denson's idea was to call the record a sampler of contemporary guitarists. So I put together parts from some of my other works either previously recorded or not. Now I usually play this piece as my first song in a public performance." the fahey files

Harry Taussig has two songs as well. Taussig is better known for his instructional books. He also appeared on a few "How To Play Folk Guitar" records in the 1960's.

His only solo recording Fate is Only Once was a private pressing that was limited to 500 copies. It has recently been reissued by Tompkins Square Records and it lives up to the hype.

Country blues legend Bukka White has one track here, perhaps to illustrate where this kind of paying comes from. No matter the reason, the Bukka track is outstanding.

The albums closer is a thirteen minute exploration by Robbie Basho and is my favorite recording by him.





Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for this treasure. I really appreciate albums that is impossible or very hard to find in my country.

03 January, 2009 18:54  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you very much :D. this is a very rare album indeed :)

03 January, 2009 19:40  
Blogger gilhodges said...

All credit where credit is due: The Anthology of Japanese Folk comp was a creation of the host of WFMU radio's Janitor From Mars program. It was created as a fund-raising gift to people donating to the station's 2005 on-air marathon. WFMU is a nonprofit, noncommercial station based just inches outside of New York City (in Jersey City, New Jersey).

If you dig this compilation — and any of the other marvels offered at Time Has Told Me — you should definitely go check out WFMU. The station streams live online and its programs are archived, so you can go back and check out programs from the past. Happy listening.

04 January, 2009 00:15  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Great selection. Heard quite a bit of it already but definitely listening to the ones I haven't.
Would highly recommend everyone checks out 'The Tropics' by Masato Minami, absolutely fantastic album.

05 January, 2009 07:21  
Blogger dweller said...

thanks for the guitars,
I already have the great japanese comp from WFMU website, its a great comp.

07 January, 2009 06:35  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for the Japanese comp! I've been looking for something like this. Maybe I'll go check out WFMU now.

10 January, 2009 05:34  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

thanks a lot for keeping so much of your stuff updated, your blog has become a source of endless pleasure and joy. i can't thank you for any individual great album that you posted and i relished, there are so many. thanks for still investing so much time and effort to share with us all those lovely musical gems.

03 February, 2009 05:49  
Blogger bobbysu said...

thank you very much

05 April, 2009 21:52  

Post a Comment

<< Home

2006 - - - - - - 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2007 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2008 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2009 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2010 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2011 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2015 - - - - - 5 6