Tuesday, February 12, 2008

by Anonymous

Fat City "Reincarnation" 1969

Side A:
1. Reincarnation (W. Danoff)
2. Wall Street (R. Weissman)
3. Locked In A Cage (W. Danoff)
4. Angeline (W. Danoff)
5. Prince Of Peace (W. Danoff)
6. Atlantis (W. Danoff)

Side B:
1. You Look Like A Memory (W. Danoff/Taffy Nivert)
2. City Cat (W. Danoff/Taffy Nivert)
3. Easter Island (W. Danoff/J. Williams)
4. Holly Would (J. De Shannon)
5. Sally Anne (W. Danoff)
6. We Don't Live Here No More (W. Danoff)


Fat City "Welcome to Fat City" 1971

Side A:
1. Nobody Can Take My Dreams From Me (Bill Danoff)
2. Readjustment Blues (Bill Danoff)
3. Fallin' In A Deep Hole (Billf Danoff)
4. The Jesus Says Hello Tango (Bill Danoff)
5. Morning Go Away (Bill Danoff)

Side B:
1. Workingman's Day (Bill Danoff)
2. O, Say Can You See! (Bill Danoff)
3. I Guess He'd Rather Be In Colorado (Bill Danoff/Taffy Nivert)
4. Not What We Promised To Be (Bill Danoff/Taffy Nivert)
5. Baby, What's Wrong With You (Taffy Nivert)
6. The Fat City High School Fight Song (Bill Danoff)


Starland Vocal Band "Afternoon Delight" (compilation)

Starland Vocal Band dominated American airwaves during the Bicentennial summer of 1976 with their quintessential soft rock chart-topper "Afternoon Delight." The group emerged from the Washington, D.C. folk scene of the late '60s, its roots dating back to the formation of the acoustic duo Fat City, which comprised future husband and wife Bill Danoff and Taffy Nivert. Together the couple wrote a song titled "I Guess He'd Rather Be in Colorado" which was recorded by John Denver and Mary Travers; with Denver, they also penned the smash "Take Me Home, Country Roads." In 1969 Fat City recorded their debut LP, Reincarnation; after 1971's Welcome to Fat City the duo began working as simply Bill and Taffy, regularly opening for Denver on tour.

On Bill and Taffy's second album, 1974's Aces, the duo enlisted 18-year-old singer and pianist Jon Carroll; the couple was so impressed by Carroll's performance they decided to form a new group, adding the youngster as well as vocalist Margot Chapman to become the Starland Vocal Band. They soon signed to Denver's Windsong label and in 1976 issued their self-titled debut LP, with the lead single "Afternoon Delight" quickly reaching the top of the charts on its way to helping earn the group five Grammy nominations. (They won two, including Best New Artist.) "Afternoon Delight" was so enormously popular that the group even landed their own short-lived CBS variety series The Starland Vocal Band Show, which featured a then-unknown David Letterman.

The second Starland Vocal Band album, Rear View Mirror, followed in 1977, but failed to match the success of its predecessor; Late Nite Radio, issued a year later, also fared poorly by comparison, and after scoring one last minor chart entry with the single "Loving You with My Eyes" the group disbanded in the wake of their fourth and final LP, 1980's 4 x 4. In the wake of Starland Vocal Band's demise the Danoffs divorced; Carroll and Chapman, who had also married at the peak of the group's success, later split up as well. All four members of the group later went on to mount solo careers, though never again recapturing the success of "Afternoon Delight."

"Ratchell" 1972

01 Problems
02 Lazy Lady
03 Here On My Face
04 And If I Will
05 Julie My Woman
06 Warm And Tender Love
07 Home
08 My My
09 Out Of Hand
10 How Many Times
11 Saycus (Instr.)
12 Peace Of Mind

Larry Byrom: Organ, Guitar, Mandolin, Piano, Trumpet, Vocals
Chris Couchois: Percussion, Conga, Drums, Vocals, Organ
Pat Couchois: Organ, Guitar, Piano, Vocals,
Howard Messer: Bass, Piano, Trumpet, Vocals


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Really FANTASTIC!!! Thanx for This post,n' do you have their 2nd.album(Ratchell II 1973)?

14 February, 2008 17:38  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Sorry, but no - you just can find their later release Couchois (1979):




but IMO it's not as good as Ratchell ...

15 February, 2008 05:37  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Any chance the Ratchell album can be re-posted (the current link is dead).

If so, thanks!


24 April, 2008 23:43  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dear Lizardson
Could you please re-up
thanks and all the best!


10 December, 2008 20:03  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for the re-up. It's much appreciated!


23 February, 2009 22:22  
Blogger Happy Schnauzer said...

Fat City - Welcome to...
Wonderful album. Despite the dull cover they cover styles from skiffle, folk country ballads and anti war protests. Superb musicianship and a subversive final track to a marching band tunetitled "Thank God for m*******a".
Well overdue for a CD release.

23 April, 2009 23:23  
Blogger singlescollectionexposed said...

Would you please re-up this album ?

Starland Vocal Band "Afternoon Delight" (compilation)


13 February, 2010 18:16  
Blogger Unknown said...

Would there be any possibility of re-posting the Bill and Taffy - Fat City Albums... they are nowhere to be found on the internet, it is almost as if they never appeared. Thank you for helping to keep the music alive.


24 July, 2011 04:37  

Post a Comment

<< Home

2006 - - - - - - 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2007 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2008 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2009 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2010 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2011 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
2015 - - - - - 5 6